Skip to content

Moment Of Truth

I cannot recall each story I read,

each story I heard, during childhood

but I do recall that each implied

in the end,  bad succumbs to good.

 

I never questioned the truth of it,

until most recent years

as tales & fables gave way to the real

& disenchantment led to tears.

 

For if this was true,

then it made no sense

for my honest display

to fetch pretense

 

I cannot, for instance, for a second believe,

that my hope deserved a stab more than once

the first time I thought it was fate at play

on what do I blame the second chance?

 

Is it that I’m blind to my own faults?

I think it not to be the case,

for each night before I sleep,

I turn my own worst critic, for goodness sake!

 

I make amends, I fail again

I win myself over each day,

I realize I may have hurt a few,

but that’s a debt I most repay.

 

 

None of the fairy tales I heard,

had parts full of such despair

wherever I look, whatever I find

misery, heartache, resentment, are there.

 

It’s only now, that I realize

that what they taught was a thought mislead

it is never good that wins over bad,

let me replace that word, in every book I read.

 

For people are never good or bad,

they are either honest or they’re not,

for what prevails is not good, but the truth

that’s what life always taught.

 

The truth uncovers itself,

in manners most perverse

it hits you when you’re least prepared,

to make matters worse.

 

So I end the game of charades today,

as I gain a new meaning to life,

goodness is an illusion, it is truth that shall prevail

With that, I end my longest strife.

 

 

 

 

 

14 Comments »

  1. Attractive element of content. I just stumbled
    upon your weblog and in accession capital to say that I acquire actually loved account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing for your augment and even I fulfillment you access persistently quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment